T ▪ House

The Five Hearts

The Five Hearts

On this day of love and affection, I am reminded of what the friends and family of Tatcha mean to me. The passion and stories you have shared are a humbling reminder of our reason for being. Each time you reach out to us, I am honored to hear from you. From a mother seeking a way to soothe her daughter’s skin, to women and men discovering a better daily ritual—each of your stories is a reflection of our incredible community. From the bottom of my heart, thank you for making Tatcha a place where beautiful stories are not only told, but shared with us, too.

This day of love also reminds me of the wisdom from a wall hanging inside an okiya (geisha house) in Kyoto. Many of the houses post their guiding principles in a prominent position, but this one, which shows five ways a heart can be beautiful, still resonates powerfully. It reads:

The Five Hearts

  1. A gentle and obedient heart, to have the heart to say “yes”;
  2. An apologetic heart, to say “I’m sorry” and admit and reflect on mistakes;
  3. A modest heart, to honor others for their accomplishments;
  4. A volunteering heart, to say “I will do it” without the thought of benefit;
  5. An appreciative heart, to say “Thank you.”

Beauty begins in the heart and mind—and you are an embodiment of this truth.



Victoria Signature

Victoria Tsai
Chief Treasure Hunter

Published February 13, 2015
Share This Post